• IMPORTANT: Welcome to the re-opening of GameRebels! We are excited to be back and hope everyone has had a great time away. Everyone is welcome!

A overwatch noob asking for help

TsuyoyRival

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I started playing overwatch because every single friend loves playing the game, but since I don't want to show the weak side, I try to learn on my own, before playing with them.
I really want to improve a lot in one week. What should I start focusing on becoming a god (eventually) ?

Thanks!

Gladdy

Reaction score
First, you want to decide what role you're interested in playing or learning first... you should probably begin with looking up different guides on Overwatch heroes. You have plenty that explains the very basics, lists each ability and different strategies. Then I'd also suggest you start watching Overwatch streamers on Twitch.tv.

Some of the best players in the game stream on Twitch and explain what they're doing, why they're doing it and really good routes.
And of course, practice! You should play each champion for at least one hour to see their skills and ultimates. That way, you will know what to expect when you face for example; a Zarya or a Soldier.

Jog

Community Supervisor
Reaction score
So I was given Overwatch about 6 months ago. I've worked up to plat in a couple comp seasons.

One of the main goals is to never jump straight into competitive and instead enjoy the game a bit and really learn what your into or not without risking screwing up your ELO. I would highly recommend choosing 2 categories of heroes and then from those 2 pick 3-4 that you will learn exclusively (eg picking Support and Tanks, then choosing Mercy, Ana, Reinhardt, Zarya). You have good variety in this way. Or you can pick one hero from each of the pools of Offense, Defense, Tank, Support.

If you want to get "good" then you need to hunker down and play.... play.... play.... those heroes and watch videos on them, watch streamers, learn them inside out.