• IMPORTANT: Welcome to the re-opening of GameRebels! We are excited to be back and hope everyone has had a great time away. Everyone is welcome!

Java or Java Script?

Dark Ice Cream

Reaction score
What language should be better to learn first? Currently, I am studying C++, wondering if Java is good, as well as Java Script.

Any suggestions?

AndroidOS

Reaction score
It depends what you want to do, really. JavaScript is more web based (and is primarily used for the front-end of applications), whereas Java is used for back-end web stuff/desktop applications/android apps.

They are very different languages, so I'd go for the one that suits what you want to make.

Dark Ice Cream

Reaction score
Hmm, my sister suggested tons of languges, such as SQL, PHP, Python, though those choices seems too confusing xD

AndroidOS

Reaction score
What do you ultimately want to end up creating with your skills? Websites, Windows applications, mobile apps?

Dark Ice Cream

Reaction score
Would likely to make Apps, suggested Languages to me were Java, Python and C++

AndroidOS

Reaction score
For Android apps then I'd recommend Java then, though if you want to go down the iOS route then you'll need to learn Objective-C or Swift (Apple's new language).

Python is a nice language to learn mind you. :p But for apps, I'd go with Java personally.

AndroidOS

Reaction score
Awesome, let me know if you need any help with it. My Java is probably a little rusty, but I'll help out if I can. :)

Dark Ice Cream

Reaction score
I don't like to bother anybody. Plus I have a very neat tutorial app for now! Thanks for the offer though :) Appreciated it

Hugop

Reaction score
You can make games using JS(HTML5), they work for every device but becomes a bit laggy for bigger games.

Patrick

Reaction score